top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureKaya

Wig Wearing & Acceptance



For some reason, I always used to think that wearing a wig meant that I had given up on my Alopecia journey and just succumbed to the circumstances I was in. To me, it symbolized me accepting that this was my reality and that there was no point of return once I decide to wear one.


That could not be further from the truth.


13 years later, I comfortably have been able to purchase a wig and finally not associate it with the idea of ''giving up'' on my Alopecia. It took me a very long time to get here, as I generally wear a headscarf on a day to day basis which hid my Alopecia very well. Over the years, going to parties and events I remained using only my headscarf as a cover and not giving wigs a go. It always just resembled the version of me that no longer had fight left in me for this journey and that was something I just was not ready for.


Recently, I decided to purchase a wig for a small gathering with the push of family and friends, and it was probably the best decision I have ever made! It's so easy to have your own connotations of what wearing a wig means, but when putting yourself in that position you'd realize you actually want to thank yourself for doing so.


Wearing a wig does not represent defeat, it represents so much more than that. It makes you feel a little more like yourself on the days where it gets hard, and allows you to feel comfortable in situations which could generally make you feel uncomfortable. Yes, we should all strive for acceptance without a cover but that unfortunately is not realistic to achieve over night. It is a journey - and we are more than deserving of utilizing things like wigs, that make the journey a little bit easier. I think its very easy for those from the outside looking in to say ''love yourself as you are'' which for sure should be the goal, but it is completely normal for that to take time when you are a woman suffering with hair loss.


My main reason for sharing this is because I know there are others out there that feel afraid of the same thing and have the same connotations towards wig-wearing like I did, but this is just a reminder that these notions couldn't be further from the truth. Wearing a wig doesn't mean defeat and its never something you should feel ashamed of. If you aren't ready to accept what's happened or ready to give up treatment, you can very well continue to do so whilst doing the things that can make you feel more at ease during this journey such as wearing a wig. It doesn't mean you've given up, it just means you're allowing yourself to absorb the different things that may provide you comfort during this time.


What do you associate with wearing wigs? I would love to know!


Dm's and emails always open,


Kaya xx


12 views0 comments
bottom of page